Day 20: The Norm

When I call myself a Christian, I intend for that term to represent the idea that I am a follower of Christ. To be a follower of Christ also means to not be a follower of the ideals of this world, which is hard to do because I still have to live on this earth. The norm for society is very different than the norm for believers in Christ, and being I am constantly surrounded by physical aspects of society and taught ideas of society, it can be easy to stray from God’s purpose rather than the world’s.

Being in a relationship with God takes consistent and intentional actions, whereas being of this world takes almost no effort. It would be much easier to absorb and take on everyone else’s ideas for how the world should work and what I should be living for because to most people, that’s what makes sense. There’s scientific facts that are proven and theories that make much more sense to the world than God’s realities. It’s up to me to make the choice to represent His love and His norm day by day.

“Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.” Luke 9:23; NIV

Even though it’s not the easy way to live this life, being a Christian is so worth having a God who loves me unconditionally, who cares about all of my worries, concerns, and problems, and who always has the best plan laid out for my life. Following the norm of society keeps me from knowing or following God’s will and benefitting from all He has to offer, and honoring the One who created me.

Leave a Reply

