Day 14: Fear

Fear seems like an obvious thing that would create separation between myself and God. Fear seems like the antithesis of faith, because with faith, we aren’t supposed to have any fear, right? This always makes me wonder why, if I do proclaim to have faith in God, I continue to fear things like my future, uncertainties I have no control over, and the unknowns in my life.

I think fear still creeps in and around my mind because it’s so easy to let it in. Thinking about fear makes me feel like I’m being productive, like the more I think about it, the more I’m trying to solve and work through it. The thing with that is that those fears I’m trying to solve are things that God has not given me to solve yet. I’m trying to gather supplies and get started early on something God hasn’t instructed me to build yet. The reason I’m so afraid of these things is due to the fact that God hasn’t given them to me to handle yet, if he’s even going to give them to me.

There have been so many times when I feared something and it never even ended up happening. I felt better when I made the decision early on to give it up to God and didn’t allow it to paralyze me with fear, but sometimes I feel like I need to stress about something up until the point that it’s over. This stress is completely unnecessary and self inflicted, but it’s hard to realize that when I feel like the problem is staring me in the face.

I know how it feels to watch loved ones be stressed or be afraid of something, and it makes me feel helpless when I can’t do anything for them. It feels like none of my attempts are enough, no matter how grateful they are. I can only imagine how God must feel when He watches us fear something He’s already gone ahead of us to deal with. Not going to God about fear separates me from Him because if I’m in this fearful mindset, I’m not communicating with Him the way I should.

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7, NIV

Leave a Reply

