Day 13: Independence

The concept of independence in this world is one that is necessary to learn by the nature of societies that promote making your own money for yourself, and reveling in your own success that you worked hard to earn. While it can be easy to see the benefits of this, I can’t help but feel convicted by the selfishness of this mentality. In a world with billions of people, many of whom are suffering, I can’t help but question the idea that I’m supposed to live for myself, by myself.

Especially during the time of becoming an adult and being a young adult, independence is the most prominent life skill that we are told to learn. There have definitely been times when I’ve had to do things by myself or be comfortable with not having anyone by my side while doing something, but it turns out that while I’ve been learning to be independent, I’ve mostly learned how to ask for help. It’s not that I can’t do anything by myself because I’m not capable of it, but because most of the things I do require me to work with others or I have people that want to work together.

I’m blessed to say there’s very rarely been times when I’ve felt completely isolated. Even when I’m working on something on my own, people are always influencing and inspiring me, whether they are people I’m personally connected with or people from the past.

It seems kind of impossible to go through life and never need anyone’s help, yet we’re always told that independence is a major factor of our lives. For me, focusing on independence tends to make me forget to be dependent on the most important source of strength, wisdom, and love. Sometimes being independent make me forget that I don’t have to do everything on my own, and that I can only be who God intends for me to be when I go to God for everything and anything.

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26, NIV

Lord, I know that I cannot fulfill Your purposes for my life when I’m trying to do things on my own. You put others in my life to help me know I am not alone, help me to rely on them and give me what I need for them to rely on me. Most importantly, show me how different my life can be when I rely fully on You for all I do.

Leave a Reply

