Day 11: Distractions

Problems that exist in our daily lives are often a lot easier to avoid when we distract ourselves with more pleasant endeavors. I would much rather read many other books than read textbooks for my classes. It’s a lot easier to not deal with sin or regret when I’m centering my life around worldly things, and not talking to God.

It’s no question to me that avoiding God in itself furthers my relationship with Him, but the act of distracting myself from various things in my life furthers me from God as well.

If I’m being honest with myself, distractions typically grow into more than just a temporary reason to step away from a stressful situation. I begin to invest myself and convince myself that these distractions are more important than what I actually need to get done. As it gets prolonged, it turns into more than just not wanting to complete an assignment.

There may be something God is trying to teach me through challenging tasks, and if I’m distracting myself from my God-given responsibilities, then I’m not learning the lesson God has set out for me to learn, and in the timing He wanted me to learn them in. What if there’s something He’s trying to prepare me for and I miss that preparation because I was trying to avoid the difficult stuff? I need to learn to trust that God will be there by my side through whatever task He throws at me.

During easier parts of life, it’s easy to say that God won’t give you anything you can’t handle. However, after certain experiences, there came a point when I realized how false that was. God will absolutely give you things that you’ll look at and not have any of the skills to even approach it. How would we grow without some feeling of resistance against us though? If God only gave me things I could handle, I wouldn’t know how to handle new things. Then if I distract myself from things I know I can’t handle, then I’m also avoiding giving God my problems.
He gives me opportunities to grow closer to Him by allowing me to have challenges that He knows I’ll have to offer up to Him, and when I distract myself to avoid them, I’m missing out on a huge opportunity of spiritual growth.
“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” Corinthians 12:10, NIV

 

Leave a Reply

